Entry #9 Sailing Trip

sailing in harbor

Dear Journal,

Jack planned to teach me how to sail last weekend. I packed all of his favorites. Sandwiches, brownies, chips, even strawberries! We usually go out with other couples when we go sailing, but this was our first time alone. I was a little worried about launching the boat without someone else helping  but Jack backed up into the water so that all I had to do was pull the car and trailer out and go park.  Everything  went smoothly and Jack grabbed my hand as he helped me onto the boat and gave me a high five.

I was looking forward to spending the day alone with just us. We tacked out of the Marina and the day was beautiful. We played around with the wind and Jack showed me how to feel for it and how to fill the sail with just the right amount of wind. As we got further from land, Jack tied off the jib so that  we both could lean back and soak up the sun. It was so peaceful and I felt as if I could just stay like that forever. Until Jack asked me if I was hungry. So I got up to get our lunch  when the wind suddenly shifted. But Jack took care of manuevring the boat as I kept setting up our picnic lunch. Soon I was leaning back onto him as we ate our sandwiches. “Mmmm Jack complimented me. He was always grateful for whatever I made.

couple on a sailboat

The water glistened as we continued to sail, the air was warm with a slight breeze. It was the perfect day to spend out on a boat. Other boats were just far enough away to look like little toys in the background. After what seemed like a while, the wind began to shift and so I lazily got up and reached for the jib.  I can’t remember how it came up, but I mentioned something about a rope.  I wasn’t sure if he was joking at first but Jack stood up and yanked the line from my hand slapping it on my leg as he grabbed it away from me, and bellowed. “Haven’t I told you that the only “rope” on a boat is on the bell?!!” I kind of squinted at him, thinking; huh? And then he kept shouting, “LINE! It’s a LINE!!!” That’s when I realized that he was serious.

No one’s ever spoken to me like that. Not even my dad when he was reeeally mad. He just kept yelling at me and was so mad that he spit on me. At first I thought it was an accident but I think that he actually really meant to. I wiped my arm and just wanted to just get away. But how far can you go when you are out in the middle of the ocean on a seventeen foot sailboat without a motor?

sailboat

Side note to my readers:

As you know, I have not posted for a while. I have my reasons. The above story is a sample of what might shed some light on them. I am going to post as many posts a day in the sequence as they happened until I am all caught up. Entry #9 is the first of the several that I will copy from my  journal for Mrs. Walker…

One thought on “Entry #9 Sailing Trip

Leave a Reply

