Entry #11 On Dry Land

Dear Journal,

So I got in the car. I wasn’t thinking about anything but getting home. Everything else seemed like a camera out of  focus. The dreams I’d begun to imagine with him all were just shattered inside a few minutes. Jack drove a few hundred yards and parked right outside the launching gate entrance, away from the traffic of exiting boaters. My heart pounded. What was he going to do? I wanted to protest and ask him to just drive but I didn’t know how he’d react. All of a sudden, I felt as if I didn’t know anything about him and realized that maybe that is why Laurie was so unhappy that we’d started dating. She knew more than she shared. Maddie was her sister and Jack and Maddie dated for over a year.

boat being pulled by suv

My mind couldn’t seem to stop. I was numb and angry and all those plans, oh yeah well, THEY were all NOT going to happen! All those weeks we’d spent together just seemed like a waste now. The air was so thick. I kept wiping my eyes because for some reason I felt like crying even though I felt mad more than sad. I was so annoyed with myself. I didn’t want him to think I cared. I just wanted him to drive! I wanted to scream “DRIVE!” It was so stupid we were sitting there in silence with his stupid boat hooked to the back of his car and I was afraid to get mad because I didn’t want to upset him again so that he’d take me home.

 

So there we sat until he leaned over and lay his arm across the steering wheel and then put his head on it and sat that way for a long time. I mean a real long time. I kind of started getting mad because I just wanted to go home. I didn’t know what to expect. Was he mad or frustrated or too upset to drive? I didn’t know. But I did know that I just wanted him to turn on the key and move.

steering wheel shot

I almost was going to say something, not sure what exactly but I did know that I didn’t want to sit there all day. So just as I began to open my mouth, he started crying, telling me how sorry he was and how what had happened had nothing to do with me and how he knew that we couldn’t be together and that he always screwed everything up with his temper

.

 

6 thoughts on “Entry #11 On Dry Land

    • Steven! I am surprised. It’s not steamy enough? LOL…
      I haven’t decided if I am writing Young Adult or Adult and also making it available for the Christian Market.
      Also, we had this discussion in one of my Writer’s sites about how descriptive we need to get. Sometimes leaving just enough to the imagination is enough. If they make it into a movie… we can talk. LOL.

      • Di, I was half joking. For the young adult or Christian market I think your story could even be toned down a little. You are right. I agree with you. The more you can leave to the imagination, the better the story, at least for the young adult or teen market, which in my opinion is where your story is going.

    • Deb you are so funny! I love it! As a writer you are right! My plan is to slowly show how it starts out… which unfortunately is exactly how it happened…As women, we want to believe that they can change. As young girls, they don’t doubt that they mean it. I think the sad thing is that even the abusers really believe it will get better.
      Thank you for loyally reading! I am reading your book for a second time and loving it even more!
      xoxo

      • Wow Di, I am flattered, thanks! Lol, I don’t think I was speaking as a writer but more like someone who has been there; after all, you have read the book! 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

