I Still Go There Sometimes

Like a breeze the scent of the past fills me.

 Peeking through it’s window my heart sees bits of the story.

Blue house windows

And for that moment I am snapped back

to a place that makes me want to believe in happy endings.

And I find myself stuck between reality and pretending.

window woman opening

 I must admit, that I still go there sometimes, that place in my mind,

Where we left that old house and all of our dreams behind.

sad woman reading a letter

when my life is in turmoil or I just want to believe

I wander back there through the door

but no one is there anymore…

door leaning

So I push my heart back and remember where I am now

and why I left then

and I believe in today again.

clouds of joy

Keri London

2015

10 thoughts on “I Still Go There Sometimes

    • Ahhh Theresa,
      Thank you. I have been having such good days lately. Not sure what is going on… Just don’t want to start editing for a while, it sends me to a dark place. THAT is why it took so long to finish. Mixed in with a lot writer’s frustration recently… just came here instead of my other blog where I am supposed to be a little wiser! LOL. (By the way, that really is a photo of the house in the story.)
      Love you my friend!
      xoxo

      • The little blue house with the white trim and nestled under the tree? I love it. I still remember the descriptions you gave in your book. They really took me there. That is one of my favorite things about your writing. You take your readers places that pull at memories of places they have hidden in their own minds and similar experiences that they might have had. You make friends with your readers through your story. It is just an endearing quality that you have.

        I understand what you are saying about all of the thinking and delving that must go into editing. Wisdom…I wouldn’t worry about that. 🙂

        Love and Blessings,
        Theresa

      • Theresa,
        Yes that is actually the house that was in my book. “Jack sent Keri a shot of it when he drove past it after they reconnected.” (literally!) Plays with my mind when I have to go back and edit. I am in a good place right now. Don’t want to go back. But I know that I have to edit big time before I can even approach an editor! 😉
        xoxo

  1. Really lovely. How many times does our mind wander to times long ago, and sometimes, even for a moment we wonder “what if”! Then we are back to knowing we are stronger and wiser. And now we can be grateful for the blessings of the tough times which made us the better for it and in a happier place now!

    • Ann,
      This was so good and I needed to hear it!>>>Then we are back to knowing we are stronger and wiser. And now we can be grateful for the blessings of the tough times which made us the better for it and in a happier place now!<<<<<
      Thank you. It means a lot coming from you.
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

