Indiscretions

computer instant message

Indiscretions

Like a scent that stills my soul, you come into my life.

You knock upon my door, though I’m someone else’s wife.

My morals have been tempted, as you hold the only key,

slowly giving back pieces of the younger parts of me.

couple riding piggy back

They fall like a puzzle, in a pile at my feet

As I watch a stranger plan with you, how we both will meet.

My life becomes a web of lies, as I crave to smell again,

the scent that led me, into this dangerous lion’s den.

hugging3

We do the dance for months, until I close the door,

telling you I just can’t be this stranger anymore.

And so I return to the life where I feel that I belong.

I ask you to move on and tell you to be strong.

computer man at night

And yet I know you linger, and you are watching me.

Sometimes I wonder, if my heart will ever be set free.

For that scent is on our skin, from all those years ago,

I still smell it every now and then, and  needed you to know.

Diane Reed

2014©

girl staring at computer screen

15 thoughts on “Indiscretions

  1. Just checking in here… to send a message to all my readers out there. Finishing up on this book that has been in the works for a few years! In editing mode now.
    In-between…. Quitting a job I had for a decade, to begin another one in a few days. But in the meantime… really trying to tie up loose strings. I’d like to put a poem in front of every chapter or do something with the poems I have collectively written as inspired, during the penning of this novel.
    Thank you all for your support. Especially the faithful ones who still show up and have ready every post! I can’t tell you how much that has meant to me.
    xoxo
    di
    aka Keri 🙂

    • I agree! The scent here is talking about the way smells or music or anything that messes with your senses, can SNAP you back like a rubberband to a place inside a memory that science can’t explain. 😉

  2. I can still remember an old flame who wore Royal Copenhagen cologne. He put it on the stationary of His letters, too. My goodness, can any woman ever forget the one who swept her off her feet when she so young, and naïve. Every aspect of that relationship is captured by the five senses and inscribed in her memory. It makes me think of “Sleeping Beauty”. I know that must sound awfully corny. You think the girl doesn’t exist anymore…until she has been awoken.

    You are an amazing writer!

    • Theresa,
      I love how you just GET it! I am not sure everyone on my other blog would. I’ve tried to only open up this side to those I truly trust to not be alarmed as I have to GI “there” at least in my writing, in order to finish my book.
      Thank you my friend for always supporting💖

  3. Diane! What am I reading here? FYI I’m 3/4 through your MS. I’m looking forward to the rest of the book because I already knew the journal part. I’m loving it. But it seems this little post is telling me your curiosity has gotten the best of you? We’ll email! 🙂

    • Christy,
      Thank you! So sorry that it has taken me so long to reply. I am just now finding these comments and I am blown away by all the wonderful insight! Yes, I think that going back into the young me decades earlier and being caught up in the recent chaos that I had to work through… the ending got switched around a few times. But I know it is finished now. And I am grateful for your time here!
      xoxo

  4. This is amazing stuff, Diane!!!! I apologize for not visiting often and I hope that you are doing well. I am so glad I’ve visited! You are gifted, my friend! Thank you for sharing that gift with us.

    -Mari

    • Mari,
      No need to apologize! That is what is great about special friendships. It can be months or even years…. and the REAL ones, can just start up right where they left off, without any guilt trips or damage done!
      xoxo
      di

Leave a comment